Does the Eco Tallit Exist? It Does Now.

An eco tallit made from a fair trade silk scarf and some linen fabric

Learn how to make an eco tallit from a scarf on my Squido0 page

A few months ago I decided I wanted a tallit, a Jewish prayer shawl. Easy enough. Lots of specialty stores sell tallits online, as do auction sites and Amazon.com. At the same time, though, I decided I wanted a pretty, feminine tallit in line with my other values: sustainable, chemical free, and safe for the farmers and artisans.

Finding a tallit that met my requirements was not so easy. In fact, I only found a few links that addressed the idea of an environmentally friendly tallit at all.

I did find, however, directions for sewing a tallit in which I could choose the fabric. I initially contacted a seamstress friend of mine, but I couldn’t find affordable fabric that made me happy. That’s when I birthed my idea for a semi-homemade eco tallit.

It would be a tallit from a scarf. Not just any scarf, an organic or spray-free or naturally died or fair trade scarf, wide like a shawl with fringe on the ends.

After all, the type of fabric and the chemicals used to weave it can make a fabric environmentally friendly or not. Conventionally grown cotton, for example, is the most chemical-laced fabric in the world, according to Organic Fabric Online. Fabrics, such as nylon, made from plastic require petroleum for production and may leach chemicals—not the best choice unless you find a scarf made from recycled bags or soda bottles.

Some raw natural materials grow faster than others, too. Hemp is one of the most sustainable fabrics. Many consider bamboo renewable and sustainable, but I’ve heard conflicting information about the sustainability and chemicals used to make bamboo fabric, and I’ve chosen to delay purchasing bamboo fabric until I find a more definitive answer. Artisans’ working conditions also deserve consideration. Fair Trade Certified scarves and shawls ensure artisans receive premium wages and good working conditions.

The perfect scarf is organic or spray-free, sustainable, and fair trade. Of course, the perfect tallit is also an expression of your personality. I found a beautiful silk fair-trade scarf and linen fabric for the atarah and corners.

The tallit turned out beautifully and only took a few hours to make (note: I know basic sewing skills but am not a sewer). Really, it’s beautiful, and almost anyone could do it, especially because I created a page on Squidoo complete with videos and lots of photographs to show you how:

How To Make an Eco Tallit From a Scarf

And while you’re there, leave me a message stating you stopped by. I love little notes. 🙂

GZANC34QK62V

Leave a Reply

